Books by Fliss Goldsmith 

Join Erin & Roderick in an endearing three-book series; follow them as they discover new things about life together. The themes of the discoveries focus on gender stereotypes, gender roles, our place in the world, aspirations, how and why things happen, religion, sexuality, opinions, how our perspective of the world is shaped, morals, peace, and being a good citizen. The goal of the books is to help younger children access topics that have previously been seen as difficult to approach or sometimes taboo, in a fun and friendly way. The books aim to encourage them to think openly about issues they will encounter in life and to feel confident in their own choices and to question stereotypes.

Erin & Roderick Discover Families

Erin and Roderick are sister and brother who are always together and always making new discoveries. This book is set on a super sunny afternoon where they are taking a picnic and playtime in the park with their friends and of course their family. As the children and the adults soak in the sunshine Erin and Roderick begin to wonder what exactly ‘Family’ is –


What does a family look like? What does a family sound like? Who is part of a family and just what is it that makes a family a family?! Through the gentle playfulness of the text and the warm and engaging illustrations this book aims to take us all on a journey of discovery and answer all those questions. It allows children to see how diverse families are and that our differences are beautiful and interesting. The story opens the conversation on family units for children, adults, caregivers, teachers and anyone who wishes to explore the wonderful world of fantastic families. Filled with fun this book finds that love certainly doesn’t have a one size fits all – and thank goodness for that!

Sue Atkins Rosettes.png

Please leave a review and

tell us what you thought