Frequently asked questions
How old do you have to be to rent a boat?
You must be 25 years of age to rent a boat (Picture ID required)
Anyone born on or after January 1, 1989 is required to complete a boating safety course to legally operate a motorized boat or personal watercraft (PWC) on Wisconsin waters.
How many people can I bring?
Maximum capacity of rental boats cannot exceed weight rating or passenger limit. Coolers and gear will effect the number of people allowed on the boat.
Do I need to make a Reservation?
Reservations are strongly recommended and encouraged, walk-in traffic will be accommodated based on availability. Reservations can be made by phone.
When do I pay?
Payment is required in full at the time of reservation.
Do you require a damage deposit?
We do not collect a damage deposit, but a credit card is required for $1000 pre-authorization in advance of your outing. No charges will be applied to the credit card unless equipment is lost or damaged during your outing.
What is your cancellation policy?
Reservations cancelled more than 14 days in advance of reservation date receive a full refund. Reservations cancelled 7 to 13 days in advance of reservation date will result in a 50% cancellation fee. Reservations cancelled less than 7 days in advance of reservation date will result in a 100% cancellation fee. You can cancel your reservation by phone.
If the weather is severe, the rental will be rescheduled. Severe weather is defined as weather where there are unsafe conditions, a warning of severe conditions, a high wind advisory, severe lightning, or tornado as defined by the National Weather Service (NWS). Subject to the severe weather policy; you will be able to reschedule the reservation within the calendar year. If weather conditions are rainy or cloudy but no use of warnings are issued by the (NWS) your rental still stands for the day.
Is gas included?
Gas is NOT included. The boat will be full of gas at the start of the rental. The boat will be refueled by Prescott Boat Rental or marina staff and paid to Point St Croix Marina by the renter at the end of the rental.
Remember to have funds (i.e. cash or Visa/MasterCard) on hand to pay for the fuel at the end of the rental.
Can I fish from your boats, and do I need a fishing license?
Yes, you can fish from our Fish/Ski Pontoons. There is No Fishing from our High Performance Tri-Toons. Fishing gear is NOT allowed on non-fishing boats. State law requires you to carry a fishing license.
Go to this link http://dnr.wi.gov/ or http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/index.html to get more information.
Do you allow dogs on your boats?
Yes, we allow up to two dogs on our Fish/Ski Pontoons and boats.
Do you rent tubes and other water toys?
We rent tubes, wakeboards, and kneeboards. We also rent water skis for adults and juniors. Please let us know what you want in advance so it can be ready when you arrive for your rental.
What if I don’t know how to drive a boat?
Our professional rental team will spend approximately 30 minutes teaching you about boat usage and safe boating practices including recognizing river markers and boating etiquette. Our goal is for you to have fun safely and stay in compliance with WI boating laws.
Can I bring food on the boat?
Of course! You are welcome to bring food and stop along the way for a picnic or a snack. Some great landing areas on the Mississippi and St Croix are the Kinnickinnic State Park and the Sand Island down past Diamond Bluff WI.
Can I bring a grill on the boat?
We have a no cooking policy on all of our boats. For insurance reasons, NO grill is allowed to be transported on any boat – even if you do not plan to use it on the boat.
Can I drink alcohol on the boat?
Passengers are allowed to drink while on the boat. DRIVERS are not allowed to operate the boat while under the influence of alcohol.